Search the news archive:
Giro d'Italia - Historical Database - Maglia Verde
By Fabio
Date: 12/2/2006
Giro d'Italia - Historical Database - Maglia Verde

Winners of the KOM competition since 1933
(Green jersey - Maglia verde)


The first KOM contest was held in the 1933 Giro, with just four categorized climbs, and Alfredo Binda as winner of the jersey. Three different prizes, one for each Mountain or Mountain Range (Appennines in central Italy, Dolomites in Trentino, and the Stelvio Pass) climbed, were awarded back in the days of 1956.

The KOM Competition leader's jersey is green since 1974 though. Riders belonging to eleven different countries, from France and the U.S.A. to the tiny Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, earned the King of the Mountain crown, with Venezuela as most recent addition to the list, courtesy of little big climber José Rujano, who figured on the Milan podium on a sunny Sunday afternoon in the month of May 2005.

All riders whose nationality is not mentioned are Italians.

1933: BINDA Alfredo
1934: BERTONI Remo
1935: BARTALI Gino
1936: BARTALI Gino
1937: BARTALI Gino
1938: VALETTI Giovanni
1939: BARTALI Gino

1940: BARTALI Gino
1946: BARTALI Gino
1947: BARTALI Gino
1948: COPPI Fausto
1949: COPPI Fausto

1950: KOBLET Hugo (Switzerland)
1951: BOBET Louis (France)
1952: GEMINIANI Raphael (France)
1953: FORNARA Pasquale
1954: COPPI Fausto (France)
1955: NENCINI Gastone
Trofeo degli Appennini: BAHAMONTES Federico (Spain)
Trofeo delle Dolomiti: GAUL Charly (Luxembourg)
Trofeo dello Stelvio: MAULE Cleto
1957: GEMINIANI Raphael (France)
1958: BRANKART Jean (Belgium)
1959: GAUL Charly (Luxembourg)

1960: VAN LOOY Rik (Belgium)
1961: TACCONE Vito
1962: SOLER Angelino (Spain)
1963: TACCONE Vito
1964: BITOSSI Franco
1965: BITOSSI Franco
1966: BITOSSI Franco
1967: GONZALES Aurelio (Spain)
1968: MERCKX Eddy (Belgium)
1969: MICHELOTTO Claudio

1970: VANDENBOSSCHE Martin (Belgium)
1971: FUENTE Manuel (Spain)
1972: FUENTE Manuel (Spain)
1973: FUENTE Manuel (Spain)
1974: FUENTE Manuel (Spain)
1975: GALDOS Francisco (Spain) and OLIVA Andrés (Spain)
1976: OLIVA Andrés (Spain)
1977: FERNANDEZ OVIES Faustino (Spain)
1978: SUTTER Ueli (Switzerland)
1979: BORTOLOTTO Claudio

1980: BORTOLOTTO Claudio
1981: BORTOLOTTO Claudio
1982: VAN IMPE Lucien (Belgium)
1983: VAN IMPE Lucien (Belgium)
1984: FIGNON Laurent (France)
1985: NAVARRO José Luis (Spain)
1986: MUNOZ Pedro (Spain)
1987: MILLAR Robert (GBR)
1988: HAMPSTEN Andrew (USA)
1989: HERRERA Lucio (Colombia)

1990: CHIAPPUCCI Claudio
1991: GASTON Iñaki (Spain)
1992: CHIAPPUCCI Claudio
1993: CHIAPPUCCI Claudio
1994: RICHARD Pascal (Switzerland)
1995: PICCOLI Mariano
1996: PICCOLI Mariano
1997: GONZALES PICO José Jaime "Chepe" (Colombia)
1998: PANTANI Marco
1999: GONZALES PICO José Jaime "Chepe" (Colombia)

2000: CASAGRANDE Francesco
2001: GONZALEZ MARTINEZ Fredy (Colombia)
2002: PEREZ CUAPIO Julio Alberto (Mexico)
2003: GONZALEZ MARTINEZ Fredy (Colombia)
2004: WEGMANN Fabian (Switzerland)
2005: RUJANO GUILLEN José Humberto (Venezuela)
2006: GARATE Juan Manuel (Spain)


Related Articles
Fan Day's Damiano Cunego & Daniele Bennati
Giro d'Italia 2007 - The Difficulties

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |